Sequence of keys in Kigen no Yoi Hakase:
D – B♭ – E – C – [C – E♭ → C] – C – A♭ – D – B♭ – [B♭]
([ ] signify the interlude resp. the coda, the only real modulation in the piece is symbolized by →)

It's basically an ABA , with each A section built upon the intervallic relations
M3↓ – TT↓ – M3↓.

Look here for a very faithful :
Have fun practising the interlude!

Think this is only about repetitions of the same ? Apart from the keys, the is what makes the piece interesting.

The two A sections feature these four types of instrumentation in sequence:
– flutes, glockenspiel and clarinets over pizzicato strings
– bassoon over pizzicato strings, accentuated by triangle and clarinet
– legato strings over bowed staccato strings, accentuated by glockenspiel
– solo oboe over bowed strings

So, the A sections are basically the same with respect to key relations and instrumentation. After four iterations, we arrive at a key one whole step lower than where we started (D to C, C to B♭). The interlude doesn't break the sequence as it modulates back to the previous key (C).

That means: You can actually chain the A sections (and the interlude, if you will) ad infinitum! After 6 iterations, you would end up back in D major.

(Well, in practice it's limited by your instruments' range.)

Sign in to participate in the conversation
Layer8 in Space

Welcome to the 8th Layer of Madness

Most topics are related to Linux, Anime, Music, Software and maaaany more